Aside

Remembering the journey

Again, I’m delaying my analysis of two documentaries I recently saw about happiness. Hopefully, I will write more about them soon. For now, I have an ever-so-brief observation. General Western thought would have you believe there can be no journey without a destination. Eastern thought posits the destination is the journey. I’m not trying to say either one is correct or incorrect; merely that they are two different ways of thinking pervasive within their respective cultures. Personally, I align more closely with Eastern way of thinking, but that doesn’t make it any more valid than the Western logic.

One could view this sort of life philosophy through the lens of art, too. Some individuals enjoy works consisting of a linear narrative, while others enjoy works with no discernible narrative (although, in truth, both are enjoyable). The best example I can think of at the moment (and I’m sure there are better examples) is Slaughterhouse-Five, which is nonlinear, while The Adventures of Huck Finn is definitely linear.

At any rate, I believe there is a lot to be said for the journey that leads to the destination. It is easy for individuals in a Western culture to get caught up in narrowly thinking about the end result without realizing the value in the hard work, the pain, the labor, even the joys that lead up to the finished product. Lest we forget, it is important to remember to enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

